AIDA Model

« Back to Glossary Index

AIDA Model in marketing communications is one of four classic hierarchy response models that makes the assumption a buyer passes through three stages: cognitive, effective, and behavioral; in that order.

AIDA is an acronym. See below to learn what each letter of the acronym means and each stage of the process.

Cognitive Stage

  • Attention (Awareness) – Attract the attention of your target audience.

Affective Stage

  • Interest – Generate interest of the product among your target audience. Focus on what the benefits are, what the product or service will do for your target audience.
  • Desire – Convince your target audience that they desire the product. The focus should be on the product or service satisfying their needs.

Behavior Stage

  • Action – Get the target audience to take action. Action can be in the form of calling a number, visiting your website, or purchasing your product or service.

The AIDA model is a theoretical,  systematic approach to understanding how to target your market and the steps to get your target audience to take action.

This “learn-feel-do” sequence is more appropriate when the target audience has a high involvement with a product category that is perceived to have a high differentiation among other products in the same category. For example, automobiles require a high emotional involvement with the buyer, and within the automobile category, there is a high perceived differentiation between brands, unlike the category of toilet paper.


« Back to Glossary Index